From Elly Dotseth, who never went

Although I was never able to take a class or work at the Big Creek Pottery, simply visiting the site and looking in the window, set my course for life! I was in high school in 1970, and on a week- long trip of camping at Ano Nuevo State beach. We drove into Davenport to pick up some supplies, and stopped at the farm. I had never taken a pottery class, but I was so totally blown away by what I saw, that I decided that someday, I too would start a pottery if I ever got the opportunity.

After many decades, I have finally done it! I am now nearly 57 years old, and have been a student of ceramic art for over 30 years. I opened a large group studio in La Mesa California, now in its third year. I wanted you all to know that I was so influenced by your school. I hope to continue with this studio until I can no longer physically do the work, and someone else can take the reins.

Published in: on March 19, 2011 at 9:13 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bigcreekpottery.wordpress.com/2011/03/19/from-elly-dotseth-who-never-went/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

