Note from Susan Horowitz

I was at Big Creek in the spring of 1973, just before my 20th birthday. I returned for Paulus Berenson’s workshop, The Serpent and the Coil, in the spring of 1974.

My time at Big Creek was a turning point in my life. I am a studio potter today, thriving on the foundation I received from Bruce in 1973. Memories of working in the studio are mixed with watching sunsets from the hill, coyote howls, bluegrass music at Shakey’s pizza, cries of Bizen! I often quote Bruce’s advice on making bowls with the left handed rib pass method, applicable to so much more, “the trick is to know when to stop starting and start stopping.” I’ve taken photos of pots on my deck, overlooking a cove in Maine, mimicking the Big Creek brochure photo. I still make scrambled eggs with scallions and cream cheese. I have no photographs, but the images and memories are still very vivid.

Published in: on March 2, 2011 at 9:56 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bigcreekpottery.wordpress.com/2011/03/02/note-from-susan-horowitz/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

