Memory from Sari

When I first came to Big Creek Pottery I wasn’t familiar with the north coast’s foggy summer mornings. As I drove up Highway One past Davenport for the first day of the workshop, I thought I was in the middle of a huge cloud of smoke. I couldn’t see anything! I really thought there was a forest fire nearby, and that I needed to get to a phone ASAP to call it in.  The “smoke” was so dense that I missed the first turnoff, and went to the north end of the loop. Then I turned onto Swanton Rd. and started to climb up and up and up the curvy road, eventually getting to a place where I was just above the fog line.  Suddenly the whole vista of the Pacific Ocean, sparkling in the sunlight, opened up before my amazed eyes.  That was a moment I’ll never forget.

Published in: on February 17, 2011 at 8:14 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bigcreekpottery.wordpress.com/2011/02/17/saris-memory/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

